Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Department of Chemistry Quick Links
Organizations and Associations
American Chemistry Society
Find resources for undergraduate students, student members, ACS student chapters, and faculty advisors at two- and four-year institutions.
Chemistry Reference Desk
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Comprehensive treatment of all areas of inorganic chemistry, including Main Group Elements; Transition Metals and Coordination Chemistry; Organometallic Chemistry; Bioinorganic Chemistry; Solid State, Materials, Nanomaterials and Catalysis; and General Inorganic Chemistry, Theoretical and Computational Methods. Articles are arranged alphabetically and are searchable keyword. HTML and PDF formats are available.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
The sixth edition of this popular dictionary covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry.
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology
Defines chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols, units, and more
NIST Research Library
The Chemistry page of the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the virtual library links to databases, bibliographies, NIST data, organizations, and chemistry related webistes.
Organic Chemistry Worldwide
A resource which has organized organic chemistry web sites by categories, such as literature, synthesis planning, reaction components, and structural analysis.
From molecules to physiology, PLoS Pathogens publishes important new ideas on bacteria, fungi, parasites, prions and viruses that contribute to our understanding of the biology of pathogens and pathogen-host interactions.
Gutenberg Library - Chemistry
Includes classical and historical books on Chemistry.
Special Materials and Open Chemistry Courses
Open Chemistry (OpenChem) provides a full curriculum of recorded lectures covering undergraduate chemistry plus selected graduate topics. Through lecture videos and ancillary materials, anyone in the world can effectively sit alongside UCI Irvine students and view complete undergraduate core and elective course lectures delivered by top faculty members.
Organic Chemistry Portal
Offers an overview of recent topics, interesting reactions, and information on important chemicals for organic chemists.