Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Open Access Newspapers
News items from the Associate Press archives.
Library of Congress Places in the News
ince the late 1990s, the Library of Congress's Geography and Map Division (G&M) posted maps on Places in the News site, an online website devoted to displaying G&M maps of recent events. The initial idea for this project was to provide K-12 teachers and their students with accurate, current maps. In the early 2000s, G&M learned that graduate level students also found these postings useful in their research. At that point G&M began to archive Places in the News posts.
Chronicling America (ISSN 2475-2703) is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
ABYZ News Links is a directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It is organized on a geographical basis and contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies. Please note that ABYZ News Links does not contain any actual news content. It only contains links to news sources.
Google Mewspapers and Magazines
Google Magazines Archive
You can get full text magazines from Google, including titles which are no longer published and Popular Science which have been around for over 100 years and continue to be published. Specific magazine issues can be linked to, specific articles, or a link to browse all issues of a title.
For example, check out the June 14, 1961 cover of LIFE featuring Ernest Hemingway.
Google News Archive
Google has worked with newspapers to digitize materials via the News Archive Partner Program. The date to which these newspapers go back varies by newspaper, but many go back to the mid 19th century, and some even earlier.
When viewing a scanned newspaper in Google News Archive, you can easily browse through pages and navigate its articles like you would for a physical newspaper. In the top right corner of of the News Archive Viewer, you'll see a navigation bar like the one pictured and described below.