Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are Open Access Journals?
Open access (OA) refers to research outputs which are distributed online and free of cost or other barriers.
Open access journals can be applied to all forms of published research output, including peer-reviewed and non peer-reviewed academic journal articles, white papers, conference proceedings, unpublished research, and other research materials. There are several different types of open access journals:
Open access peer-reviewed journals, freely available on the internet. Some publishers charge article processing charges (APCs) or fees (APFs). Researchers can choose to publish in fully OA journals, see the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
Scholarly journal publishers offer a combination of subscription access and open access. Researchers may be approached by a hybrid publisher to pay a fee for open and immediate access.
Scholarly journal publishers permit researchers to deposit or self-archive publications in institutional repositories such RePeC (Research Papers in Economics) and the Social Sciences Research Network - provide free unlimited online access to self-archived versions of publications.
Open access scholarly publishing free of fees and access charges, for example, Discrete Analysis, an online peer-reviewed journal where articles are links to arXiv
Open Access Journal Collections
Electronic Journal Center
The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a database of electronic journal articles from more than 10,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Genamics JournalSeek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. The database presently contains 41690 titles.
Elsevier Open Access Journals
All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download.
Open Access Journals
Open Access Initiative is committed to make genuine and reliable contributions to the scientific community without restricting the access of published content. This publisher hosts over 700+ leading-edge peer reviewed Open Access Journals and organizes over 3000 International Conferences all over the world.
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 120 million documents from more than 6,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Includes access to journals in areas of science, technology, medicine, the humanities and social sciences.
Understanding Open Access
Additional Open Access Resources by Discipline
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 98 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences.
Law Review Commons
Provides access to law review research and scholarship.
Open access to 1,413,836 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics
Social Sciences Network
SSRN´s eLibrary provides 807,721 research papers from 382,997 researchers across 30 disciplines.
Open Humanities Press Journals
OHP is an international community of scholars, editors and readers with a focus on critical and cultural theory.
Special Open Access Journal Projects
The Modernist Journals Project
Contains digital editions of culturally significant magazines from around the early 20th century.
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers. Includes an OER and Accessibility filter.
At this time the NTL Digital Repository focuses primarily on reports, not journal articles/pre-prints. NTL places emphasis on collecting documents, by priority, from the following publishers:
i. United States Department of Transportation agencies
ii. State Departments of Transportation, local agencies, MPOs, tribal road agencies
iii. Other federal agencies
v. Professional organizations
vi. Private sector sources