Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to find open videos and images
Google Advanced Image Search
Use the "Usage Rights" filter to find images with Creative Commons licenses.
UWM Libraries Digital Collections
The UWM Libraries Digital Collections draw from materials in Archives, Special Collections, the Curriculum Collection, Music Library, and the American Geographical Society Library. Images may be downloaded by individuals or libraries for personal use, research, teaching or any "fair use" as defined by copyright law.
UW Digital Collections
The University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center provides access to digital resources that support the teaching and research needs of the UW community, uniquely document the university and State of Wisconsin, and provide access to rare or fragile items of broad research value. Images may be downloaded and reused for educational purposes.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress provides access to noncommercial, high-quality content, from digitized photographs, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, and books, to "born digital" materials, like Web sites. Whenever possible, the Library of Congress provides factual information about copyright holders of the materials but it is up to the user to make decisions about fair use of the materials.
Digital Public Library (DPLA)
All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Creative Commons Cultural Heritage Search
Search for (beta) (Images only with an emphasis on openly licensed cultural heritage images)
Contributors to YouTube can license their videos for reuse or reuse with attribution. Users can use filters to find Creative Commons licensed videos.
Vimeo is a video-sharing website where users can upload, share, and view videos. Search filters allow users to find Creative Commons licensed videos.
TED Talks are available under the Creative Commons license "Attribution - NonCommercial - NonDerivative" (BY-NC-ND).
Khan Academy offers free practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard so that learners can study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. Khan Academy's content is available for personal, non-commercial purposes.
Includes textbooks, videos, podcasts, multimedia.
YouTube Creative Commons Search
Finding Creative Commons Images
Google Image Search + Usage Rights
Flickr CC Licensed images