Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Universal Design for Learning
This site created by The Ohio State University provides information about universal design. The site offers sample instructional materials and additional resources on UDL.
Supporting Learners with Diverse Needs
This link provides an overview and discussion on strategies one can use to support diverse learners.
Hosts a vibrant online community called UDL Connect where users can find resources, participate in conversations, and build their own UDL professional learning communities.
DO-IT Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology
The DO-IT (Disabilities, Opportunities, Internetworking, and Technology) Center is dedicated to empowering people with disabilities through technology and education. It promotes awareness and accessibility—in both the classroom and the workplace—to maximize the potential of individuals with disabilities and make our communities more vibrant, diverse, and inclusive.
SNOW:Inclusive Learning and Education
SNOW is a branch of the Inclusive Design Research Centre at OCAD University that focuses on technologies for learning and promotes understanding of inclusive learning practices.
The Trace Research & Development Center is a part of the College of Information Studies (link is external)at the University of Maryland. Founded in 1971 by a group of students at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Trace has been a pioneer in the field of technology and disability, known for high-impact research and development.
Offers specific instruction on how instructors can make their lesson resources accessible in the classroom
Creating an Accessible Classroom
Faculty can support the continued success of students with disabilities by implementing certain practices - this guide provides information and tips for creating an accessible classroom.
This link provides an array of resources for teaching, learning, and research on universal design, accessible online education, and trends in promoting accessible education.
Best Practice Guidelines for Digital Publishing
Includes Best practice for EPUB and provides resouces for publishing accessible online content. Includes image metadata for accessibility.
Images Description Templates for Common Graphics
Includes image description templates for common types of graphics, based on the NCAM STEM description guidelines. Image describers respond to questions regarding the basic characteristics of a diagram, and are guided through a fill-in-the-blanks process, which generates the first paragraph of an image description.
A VPAT is a vendor generated statement (using a required template) that provides relevant information on how a vendor’s product or service claims to conform ACCESSIBILITY standards associated with Section 508 Standards.
An updated template, VPAT 2.0 was created October 2017. (The new template allows companies to report conformance with WCAG 2.0.)
- The VPAT was designed to provide information on how a product or service conforms to the Section 508 Accessibility Standards (from the U.S. Access Board) for Electronic and Information Technology (EIT) in a consistent fashion and format.
- In general, Vendors should generate a VPAT whenever they develop products or services that are determined to be EIT.
- In each VPAT, the vendor is expected to make specific statements, in simple understandable (recommended) language, about how their product or service meets the requirements of the Section 508 Standards (section by section, and paragraph by paragraph).
This list includes VPATS for common instructional and library vendors. Information is dynamic.
BlackBoard Courseware Accessibility
Creating Accessible OERs
This link from the OER Commons discusses ways in which to create accessible OERS for teaching and lerning and provides guidelines to consider when creating OERs.
The resources provided here provides information of creating learning materials in formats that are accessible.
Best Practices for Creating Accessible Content
From edX, this resources outlines the best practices for making online learning more accessible.
A List Apart
A list apart is a well known content resource that provides high quality articles on design and development that’s in line with web standards and best practices.
Open Access Library Resources
Disability Studies Quarterly
Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS).. DSQ is committed to developing theoretical and practical knowledge about disability and to promoting the full and equal participation of persons with disabilities in society. (ISSN: 1041-5718; eISSN: 2159-8371)