Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources for EBP
- American Nurses Association Research Toolkit
This toolkit is designed to support nurses in providing evidence-based care and to assist in shaping health policy.
- CAM Evidence-Based Resources for Health Care Providers
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine provides this site to provide health care providers research results and clinical practice guidelines relating to complementary and alternative medicine practices.
- Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
Site produced by the Oxford-Centre for Evidence Based Medicine. Includes sections on learning, doing, and teaching evidence-based medicine. Toolbox includes tips on asking focused clinical questions, searching MEDLINE for the best evidence, and a glossary of terms.
- Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is comprised of several databases that identify research at varying levels of evidence. The databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Online resource dedicated to learning, teaching, and practicing evidence-based medicine. Includes interactive capabilities including wizard to help formulate clinical queries and customizable appraisal worksheets. Limited to four simultaneous users.
- Joanna Briggs Institute
The Joanna Briggs Institute is an initiative of Royal Adelaide Hospital and the University of Adelaide. The Institute provides "a collaborative approach to the evaluation of evidence derived from a diverse range of sources, including experience, expertise and all forms of rigorous research and the translation, transfer and utilisation of the 'best available' evidence into health care practice." Many resources are available only to member institutions, although some Systematic Reviews and Best Pr
- National Guideline Clearinghouse
"The National Guideline Clearinghouse� (NGC�) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services....The NGC mission is to provide physicians, nurses, and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation and use."
- National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP)
The National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) is a searchable online registry of mental health and substance abuse interventions that have been reviewed and rated by independent reviewers. This is an initiative of the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration.
- Natural Standard
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
- NIH Consensus Development Program
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) Consensus Development Program organizes major conferences that produce evidence-based consensus statements addressing controversial issues in medicine important to health care providers, patients, and the general public. The site provides access to all NIH Consensus Statements and NIH State-of-the-Science Statements.
- PubMed Health
Resource for consumers from the National Library of Medicine that provides both easy-to-read summaries of clinical effectiveness research, as well full technical reports.