Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Department of Biology Quick LInks
Writing Guides for Biology
Online Biology Resources
The Oxford Companion to the Body
Guide to every aspect of the body. Provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them.
Encyclopedia of Evolution
A comprehensive guide to the essentials of evolutionary biology, these entries by leading experts survey essential concepts and theories, present methods, models and findings, and discuss both the history of the field and current controversies.
Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of Life
Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is a free online resource bringing together information about all life on Earth in text, images, video, sounds, maps, classifications and more. EOL offers 1.9 million species pages, plus opportunities for readers to create Collections, start and join Communities, share their species images.
Encylopedia of Mammals
Covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world in clear, accessible language, and is superbly illustrated throughout with photographs and original artwork.
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life
Offers unrivalled coverage of the fish and aquatic invertebrates that inhabit our rivers, lakes, and oceans. Describes in detail the anatomy, behaviour, habitat, breeding, and conservation status of species: from microscopic, single-celled organisms swept along by water currents to gigantic powerhouses of the deep.
Biology Dictionary Online
Quick access dictionary to look up biology terms and vocabulary.