Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kent State University Databases for Biological Sciences
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, Agricola contains book and journal article citations in the areas of agriculture and related disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural farming products, alternative farming practices and food and nutrition.
BIOSIS Previews (includes Biological Abstracts)
An international database covering the life science disciplines, indexing nearly 7,000 journals. Updated monthly.
Formerly known as faculty of 1000. Faculty of 1000 is composed of 5,000 Faculty Members — senior scientists and leading experts in all areas of biology and medicine — plus their associates. The Faculty recommends the most important articles, rating them and providing short explanations for their selections.
Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index
Provides abstracts and limited full-text for articles from more than 300 core publications covering horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy.
Journal of Visualized Experiments: JoVE
A peer reviewed journal publishing biological research in a video format. Visualization facilitates the understanding and efficient reproduction of both basic and complex experimental techniques.
PubMed provides free, worldwide access to MEDLINE. It also contains links to the full-text versions of articles at participating publishers' Web sites and access to PREMEDLINE basic citation information. NOTE: accessing PubMed through this URL will provide links to online, full-text articles available through KSU and OhioLINK. All the citations that were originally in MEDLINE are encompassed in this database.
Web of Knowledge
Three multidisciplinary "Web of Science" databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Updated weekly.
Zoological Record is the online version of the print publication detailing animal biology, acting as a taxonomic record and unofficial register of animal names. The database lists references for articles where notes about species appear. The print edition goes back to 1864 and is a good companion to this online source for years before 2004.
Open Access Journals for Biological Sciences
Biology- An Open Access Journal of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Biology is an international peer-reviewed open access journal of biological sciences published quarterly online by MDPI.
PLOS Biology features works of exceptional significance, originality, and relevance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems, including works at the interface of other disciplines, such as chemistry, medicine, and mathematics.
BMC Biology is an open access journal publishing outstanding research in all areas of biology,
BMC - Biomedicine Journals
This site provides a list of open access journals on topics related to bio-medicine.
Ecology and Evolution
This journal provides a broad scope of research on topics related to ecology and evolution.
Open Life Sciences
Open Life Sciences (previously Central European Journal of Biology) is a fast growing peer-reviewed journal, devoted to scholarly research in all areas of life sciences, such as molecular biology, plant science, biotechnology, cell biology, biochemistry, biophysics, microbiology and virology, ecology, differentiation and development, genetics and many others.
USDA resource that helps identify plants species.
OhioLINK Journal Finder
Use this tool to find specific electronic journals on biology.