Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Please note that if you are off-campus, you must enable the VPN to search these online databases. For more about off-campus access, read this.
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text
Provides access to nursing and allied health literature and information, including such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies, and health sciences librarianship. Updated monthly.
Use this link to search the National Library of Medicine's database which is the primary database to use to identify professional journal articles about medical and health science topics.
The Cochrane Library is comprised of several databases that identify research at varying levels of evidence. The databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
FindIt with OLinks is available on campus and with your VPN at home.
Web of Knowledge
Three multidisciplinary "Web of Science" databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Updated weekly.
KSU Online Journals
You can search for articles only in the journals in these specific Kent State University collections. Please note that if you are off-campus, you must enable the VPN to search some of these collections and access the articles online. For more about off-campus access, read about connecting off-campus at http://www.kent.edu/library/services/offcampus.cfm
Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
Full-text coverage of selected journals in the areas of arts, humanities, math, medicine, science, engineering, computer science, and social sciences. This link gives the current status of access to EJC titles. For some, links are provided through publishers' web sites.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. Students and faculty have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles.
Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) Nursing and Health Professions Premier Collection
This is an exclusive collection of more than one hundred full-text journals published by LWW in nursing and related health fields.
Steps for searching CINAHL and PubMed
Search Tips for CINAHL and PubMed
Other Useful Databases
Over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports are indexed by AGELINE. This database covers issues related to aging from individual, national, and global perspectives. It includes health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work,
economics, and public policy fields.
Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is a United States federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services headquartered in Druid Hills, unincorporated DeKalb County, Georgia, in Greater Atlanta. Provides a wealth of resources and topics to search.
A registry and results database of public and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Provides high quality information about marketed drugs, including FDA labels (package inserts).
Natural and Alternative Treatments
Contains more than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.
Natural Standard was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.
PsycINFO is the key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Journal coverage is from the 1800s to the present, and includes international material from approximately 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
REHABDATA is produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center and is freely available on the Web. "The main file, 1997-present, describes over 12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities."
Databases from the National Library of Medicine on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Open i from the National Library of Medicine
Search from thousands of medical images which will one day number in the millions as they add more.
Images from the History of Medicine
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to over 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).
This free online medical database and radiology portal is provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. Launched in 1999, over 12,000 teaching file cases and 56,000 images are available.
Trauma.org, an independent, non-profit organization, provides education, information and communication resources for professionals in trauma and critical care. The site,launched in 2005, includes the Trauma Image Database with images freely available for educational use – and the warning: “Images are directed towards healthcare professionals and can be disturbing.”