Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this page
These resources are starting points for finding local, State, or national health statistics, as well as other information about a community--population, housing, employment, education, and crime.
A more complete guide for students in Nursing 40020 can be accessed by clicking here.
Demographics, housing, education, etc.
- American FactFinder
This is an excellent gateway to economic and population census data. Data are available for download, in customizable tables or in thematic mapped. The site provides access data from the Decennial Censuses, the Economic Censuses, and the American Community Survey.
- Ohio County Profiles
Provides up-to-date information on each of Ohio's counties from over 50 sources. Includes data on population, housing, economic conditions, labor.
- Community Health Status Indicators
This U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services' site provides an overview of key health indicators for local communities. It contains over 200 measures for each of the 3,141 United States counties.
- County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
This resource is a The County Health Rankings & Roadmaps program is a collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute. It provides information about health at the county level and suggests what can be done to create healthier places.
- Health, United States
Core reference source for government-compiled health statistics. Provides trend tables that are updated as new data becomes available.
- Healthy People 2020
This presents the next 10-year agenda for improving the Nation's health. It identifies nearly 600 objectives with 1,200 measures to improve the health of all Americans. Included is a Health Indicators Warehouse for data related to the objectives.
- HHS Data Council Gateway to Data and Statistics
Produced by the U.S. Dept. of Health & Human Services, this resource provides links to key health and human services data and statistics. This includes coverage of Federal, state, and local government-sponsored information.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
Contains statistics on selected diseases reported to the Center for Disease Control by state health departments.
- National Center for Health Statistics
Includes data on vital events, health status, lifestyle, exposure to unhealthy events, the onset and diagnosis of illness and disability, and the use of health care.
- State Health Facts Online
This site from the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation contains the latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation.
- State Snapshots
The State Snapshots provide State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their State. State-level information used to create the State Snapshots is based on data collected for the National Healthcare Quality Report (NHQR).
- Trust for America's Health
This site is created by a non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to the nation's health. It includes extensive state data for various public health indicators and compares them with the national average.
- Occupational Employment Statistics
This U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics site provides employment and wage estimates for over 700 occupations. Estimates are available for the nation, by state, and by metropolitan area, as well as for specific industries.
Crime and selected accident statistics
- FARS Encyclopedia
The Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS) contains data on all vehicle crashes in the United States that occur on a public roadway and involve a fatality. This FARS Query System provides interactive public access to fatality data through this web interface.
- Ohio and U.S. Crime Statistics
This site provides crime-by-county statistics for Ohio.