Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURS 40872: Intro to Nursing Research: Home

This guide includes many resources for the introduction to nursing research course including how to find books and journal articles, tutorials on how to search databases, and information on citing your sources using APA style.

Intro to Nursing Research

This course will cover the scientific approach and methods of research design in clinical nursing. You will evaluate specific nursing studies. You'll participate in the development of a researchable nursing problem, and analyze and critique the studies of a problem and their implications for clinical practice.

What's in this Guide

Use this guide as a starting point for your research. Use the tabs above to navigate or the links in this box:

Finding Books: How to find and order books through the library catalog.

Databases for Nursing Research: Lists of the databases you will use to find online articles.

Search Tips for Databases and for Books: Need help searching?

Obtaining a Journal Article: Ways to obtain articles that are not online.

APA Style Manual Help: Need help citing and organizing your sources? Click here!

Community Health Assessment Tools: This page provides links to databases of statistics.

Special Topics in Nursing: This page provides links to resource guides on special topics in nursing such as evidence-based practice.

If you have any questions you can always contact me using the information under my picture, or using the chat box on this page.

Using the Library

You can find what you need to know about Kent State University Libraries and library services on these library web pages:

Subject Guide

Mary Hricko's picture
Mary Hricko
Contact:
Dr. Mary Hricko
Library Director

14111 Claridon-Troy Rd
Burton, OH 44021
440-834-3722
Website Skype Contact: dr.mary3