It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pirsig, R. M. (1974). Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: An Inquiry into Values. New York, NY: Random House.
Research is a Process.
Ways to Get Started:
This content was modified from Madison College Library (https://libguides.madisoncollege.edu/InfoLitStudents)
Keep an Open Mind Regarding:
Write About What You Discover...
Let's say you are trying to argue against hand-held texting while driving. However, in your research you find this summary of research done by University of Utah psychologist David Strayer that found:
So if the safe operation of a car is the core motivation for your argument, you might have to pivot your thesis and research to examine all the aspects of cell phones, handfree or otherwise, and the extent to which they distract the driver.
Adjust your thesis and restructure your argument when credible, current source material:
Suggests that solutions to your issue are more complex than you first believed
Offers that there are multiple solutions to the same problem
Reveals that there are newer, evidence-based paths to positive change
Provides new research that indicates your current thinking might be flawed
Indicates that your issue might be one part of a much larger problem that requires far greater change than you imagined
There a several models available for how to systematically evaluate the sources you use in the course of your research. Two of the more popular are:
Provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies
Use this database to begin your research.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. For Kent State University, students and faculty now have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles. Use this database to do research on historical topics.
Why scholarly? Why peer-reviewed?
Especially when you use library databases for your research, some of articles you discover will likely be 'scholarly'. Most of the time this means that those who have conducted research in their field have published their findings in an academic journal. The most credible type of journals are those that have published articles following a rigorous 'peer-review' process. In this case the 'peers' are other experts in the field.
"Ethical Theory and Moral Practice: An International Forum is a double blind peer-reviewed journal which aims to publish the best work produced in all fields of ethics. It welcomes high quality submissions regardless of the tradition or school of thought from which they derive." (About this journal from Springer Publishing)
Scholarly or peer-reviewed sources:
are written for and reviewed by fellow academics or researchers in the field
are excellent for finding out what has been studied or researched on a topic
contain original research or in-depth study in the field
provide extensive references leading to other relevant sources of information
use the technical language of the field
"The purpose of a research paper...
is to synthesize previous research and scholarship with your ideas on the subject. Therefore, you should feel free to use other persons' words, facts, and thoughts in your research paper, but the material you borrow must not be presented as if it were your own creation. When you write your research paper, remember that you must document everything that you borrow--not only direct quotations and paraphrases but also information and ideas."
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. 7th ed. New York: MLA, 2009. 55. Print.
Citations are used to give credit to those you reference in your papers and presentations.
Citation styles are the specific way you organize information related to each reference, such as title and author. Citations are important because they maintain your academic integrity and give proper credit to those you reference.
The most common citation styles are MLA (from the Modern Language Association), APA (from the American Psychological Association), and Chicago (from the Chicago Manual of Style).
For Library assistance, please contact Dr. Mary Hricko, Library Director:
BrowZine offers users a sleek, easy to use, mobile digital environment to explore journals. You can search by journal title or browse by subject and you can create a personalized digital journal bookshelf to which you can download articles from your favorite journals for later reading offline.
To locate items that are not available in the library catalogs or research databases, interlibrary loan enables patrons to request additional resources. This link provides additional details about using interlibrary loan services. Please use your flashline credentials to place an interlibrary loan.