Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kent State University Databases for Geology
GeoREF (EBSCO Interface)
Contains literature of Geology and related topics 1785–Present by the American Geosciences Institute.The database contains over 3.3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
The Lyell Collection provides online full text access to the many of the publications of the Geological Society of London including journals and the full backfile of electronic books in several series (Special Publications, Memoirs, and Conference Proceedings). The collection can be searched through these links, or through the libraries' other tools, KentLINK for ebooks and the eJournal Finder for journals.
Environment Complete is the electronic version of Environment Index, and covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides access to three multidisciplinary databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated daily.
Produced by the National Agricultural Library, Agricola contains book and journal article citations in the areas of agriculture and related disciplines, including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural farming products, alternative farming practices and food and nutrition.
Open Access Journals for Geology
PANGAEA is an open access archive for earth system research data. The journal Earth System Science Data (ESSD), a European journal dedicated to sharing research data in the environmental sciences, is the basis for this project
Open Life Sciences (previously Central European Journal of Biology) is a fast growing peer-reviewed journal, devoted to scholarly research in all areas of life sciences, such as molecular biology, plant science, biotechnology, cell biology, biochemistry, biophysics, microbiology and virology, ecology, differentiation and development, genetics and many others.
USGS Publications Warehouse
Use this search to find publications of the US Geological Survey for your topic. Use the advance search to identify both the state and a smaller geographic area for your topic. Many publications are online and available for printing or downloading.
Additional Database Resources
The National Geologic Map Database
Find information about maps and cartographic resources such as geologic maps, geologic names, earth science databases, and topographic maps.