Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Spatial Analysis and Mapping
StoryMap is a free tool to help you tell stories on the web that highlight the locations of a series of events.
ESRI Story Maps
Different from StoryMaps. Story Maps are useful in presenting a narrative using interactive maps, images, video, and text. Although story maps can incorporate analytical tasks, they are not intended to do the heavy lifting of geographic information systems. They use the tools of GIS, and often present the results of spatial analysis, but don’t require their users to have any special knowledge or skills in GIS.
Google - Tour Builder
Google Tour Builder is a web-based storytelling tool which lets you easily create and explore stories and places around the world.
Curation and Preservation
a community resource guide to data curation in the digital humanities. This is the first stop on your way to mastering the essentials of data curation for the humanities. The Guide offers concise, expert introductions to key topics, including annotated links to important standards, articles, projects, and other resources. Topics include: Introduction to Humanities Data Curation, Data Representation, Classics and “Digital Classics”, Digital Collections, Standards, Policy, Practice, & Law.
For more up-to-date list of tools. "The DiRT Directory is a registry of digital research tools for scholarly use. DiRT makes it easy for digital humanists and others conducting digital research to find and compare resources ranging from content management systems to music OCR, statistical analysis packages to mindmapping software."
DH ToyChest: Digital Humanities Resources for Project Building
Lists resources for practical work in the digital humanities. Curated by Alan Liu, University of California, Santa Barbara, a selective list of free tools or tools with generous trial periods. Explore Guides to Digital Humanities; Tutorials; Tools; Examples; amd Data Collections & Datasets
Open Data Sets
Qualitative Data Repository
A dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives.
UK- Data Archive
A catalogue of over 5000 data collections, many of which are free to use. You will need to register to access data.
British Library Collection
A list of datasets for content mining, image analysis, digital mapping etc.
Text Mining and Analysis
TAPoR is a gateway to tools for sophisticated analysis and retrieval of text.
JSTOR Data for Research
The Data for Research (DfR) service is provided by JSTOR for use by the research community. It provides a set of web-based tools for selecting and interacting with content from the JSTOR archive, an archives that spans hundreds of years and billions of words of text. The DfR service is completely free and available to the public.
New to building an infographic? Infogr.am is a popular option for beginners. Basic package is free.
Fusion Tables - Google
Google’s Fusion Tables is a data management app that allows you to produce detailed charts, graphs or maps fairly quickly. You can also make them collaborative and use public or your own uploaded data. The Guardian uses this tool if you need an extra recommendation.
Tin Eye - Reverse Images
Tin Eye is a reverse images search engine whereby you search for images using images
Neatline allows scholars, students, and curators to tell stories with maps, images and timelines.
As a suite of add-on tools for Omeka, it opens new possibilities for hand-crafted, interactive spatial and temporal interpretation.
Exhibitions and Digital Publishing
Free version of Omeka
Like Omeka.org, this version allow you to create digital exhibitions, but the themes and plug-ins are limited. You can set up an account on your own.
The creation of metadata can be streamlined by using our installation of SharedShelf (our campus teaching image database). Contact Jeannine Keefer for more information.
Artsteps is a a web-based environment that allows its members to create virtual art galleries in lifelike 3D spaces. It is an application for artists, art organizations and art enthusiasts to model actual or virtual exhibitions by designing realistic 3-dimensional room complexes. Virtual exhibitions may include 2-dimensional artifacts (e.g. paintings, photos and posters), 3-dimensional artifacts (e.g. sculptures or small installations) and streaming videos.
Virtual exhibitions can be explored on the Artsteps web site or can be embedded on any web page, site or blog. They can also be rated, discussed and shared through a multitude of options, including posting on popular social sites"
A free, open source authoring and publishing platform (& semantic web authoring tool) that’s designed to make it easy for authors to write long-form, born-digital scholarship online. Requiring minimal technical expertise, Scalar enables users to assemble media from multiple sources and juxtapose them with their own writing in various ways.