Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sample Projects in Digital Humanities
The following projects and resources are only a few of the subject specific digital humanities projects.
Language and Literature
Juxta is an open-source tool for comparing and collating multiple witnesses to a single textual work. Originally designed to aid scholars and editors examine the history of a text from manuscript to print versions, Juxta offers a number of possibilities for humanities computing and textual scholarship.
A non-exhaustive list of sites for digitized texts devoted to particular time periods, authors, and/or genres:
Religion and Philosophy
PhilArchive is the largest open access e-print archive in philosophy. Formerly known as the PhilPapers Archive, it is built on and integrated with the PhilPapers database. Access to items on PhilArchive is free without a user account. PhilArchive is a non-profit project supported by the PhilPapers Foundation.
This directory curates ongoing WikiProjects.
What Middletown Read
"What Middletown Read" is a database and search engine built upon the circulation records of the Muncie (Indiana) Public Library from November 5, 1891 through December 3, 1902. It documents every book that every library patron borrowed during that period, with the exception of one gap from May 28, 1892 to November 5, 1894.
Born into Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project
Contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves collected as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration.
The Poetry Foundation
Includes, essays, biographies, poetry, and special collections of poetic works. Includes audio clips of poet interviews and readings.
The following is a list of open access journal projects:
Bodleian Internet Library of Early Journals
18th and 19th century British journals, including The Gentleman's Magazine and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
British Periodicals-19th century (Hathi Trust)
Fully digitized issues of The Athenaeum (1832-1899), The Gentleman's Magazine (1806-1816), Penny Magazine of the Society for the Diffusion of Useful Knowledge (1832-1845), and Punch (1858-1885).
American newspapers 1860-1922.
Transcendentalist magazine, 1840-1922. Published the work of such literary luminaries as T.S. Eliot, Sherwood Anderson, William Butler Yeats, E.E. Cummings, William Carlos Williams, Ezra Pound, W.B. Yeats, and many more.
Making of America
Digitized books and journals published during the American Civil War period.
The Modernist Journals Project
Digitized English language literary and artistic journals charting the beginning of Modernism (1890-1922).
Nineteenth-Century Serials Edition (ncse)
Full digital facsimiles of six 19th century English periodicals.
Open Data Projects
Registry of Research Data Repositories
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions.
History Pin (Local History)
Historypin is a way for people to come together to share and celebrate local history. It consists of a shared archive, a mutually supportive community and a collaborative approach to engagement with local history.
Kent State University - May 4th Digital Archives
The Kent State Shootings Digital Archive, created and maintained by the department of Special Collections and Archives, includes thousands of items selected from the May 4 Collection that have been put into digital format. This digital archive enables you to search for materials in several different ways such as by subject, geographical location, sub-collection, or keyword.
Watergate Tapes and Transcripts
The Richard Nixon Presidential Library includes access to the Watergate tapes and transcripts. Several Presidential Libraries include digital resources.