This is the "Home" page of the "Resources for Distance (Online) Learners" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources for Distance (Online) Learners  

This guide is made specifically for students working off campus or from home, but it can also be helpful for any students working at home.
Last Updated: Apr 1, 2014 URL: http://libguides.geauga.kent.edu/DL Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Quick Links

  • Your Library Account
    View a list of the materials you have checked out, renew items, view any fines you might owe and more!
  • Off-Campus Access
    How to access Kent State University Libraries online resources when you are not on campus (via the KSU Cisco VPN).
  • Borrowing Library Materials
    Faculty, students and staff automatically have borrowing privileges. Just show your Flashcard to borrow materials from the University Libraries.
  • Interlibrary Loan
    Can't find what you need at the University Libraries? Interlibrary loan is a service that obtains materials from other libraries.
  • Ask a Librarian
    Need help, but can't get to one of the Kent State University Libraries?

Tips for using Blackboard Learn and Wimba

  • Blackboard Learn and Wimba
    Click here for tips and support from the online technology help center from KSU on using Blackboard Learn and Wimba for your online courses.
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


What's in this Guide?

This guide is made specifically for students working off campus or from home, but it can also be helpful for any students working at home. It will give you information on how to connect via the KSU Cisco VPN so that all the resources you can access on the campus will be available to you at home. This includes access to hundreds of databases and ebooks. If you have any questions you can always contact me using the information under my picture, or using the chat box on this page.

  • Activating the VPN
    This guide is made specifically for students working off campus or from home, but it can also be helpful for any students working at home. It will give you information on how to connect via the KSU Cisco VPN so that all the resources you can access on the campus will be available to you at home. This includes access to hundreds of databases and ebooks. You'll also be able to chat with librarians on the web and direct your reference questions to us. I'll also include some search tips and strategies for searching databases.
  • Articles
    This page will give you lists of databases you can access at home using the VPN you'll install on your computer (see above link). You have access to hundreds of databases that will give you full-text journal articles through the Kent State library system.
  • Books and Ebooks
    You might want to order a book to a location close to you from the Kent library catalog or from OhioLINK, which encompasses the entire state of Ohio. If you cannot make it to a location to pick up materials, there are plenty of ebooks you can read online. I will show you how to search for just electronic materials here.
  • Search Tips
    Hone your search skills using the tutorials on this page!
  • Citation Tools Guide
    Whether you're using MLA, APA, Chicago, or one of the other citation styles, it can be tricky and complicated. This page links to a guide that will cover all of these styles and help you when you have to write that works cited or references page for your paper.
 

Library Tutorials

There are tutorials available on searching for books and articles here. There are also a few tutorials on using MLA and APA style manuals. Depending on what course you are taking or discipline you are in, you will need to cite your sources using a specific format.


Click here to link to the tutorials.

 

Like our Page on Facebook!


Geauga Library Staff

Profile Image
Jamie Bloss
Contact Info
Geauga Campus Library
(440) 834-3710
www.geauga.kent.edu
jbloss1@kent.edu
 

Chat

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip